Skip to main content
The Developer Tab in Microsoft Office enables users to access the powerful Visual Basic & Macro tools as well as Spreadsheet form & ActiveX controls. Many of the examples for integrating our products with Microsoft Office Applications require accessing the VBA project window and occasionally inserting buttons and controls onto your spreadsheets. To enable the Developer tab in Excel, click on the File menu and select “Options” at the end of the menu. In the new window that pops up, click on “Customize Ribbon” and check the option labeled “Developer” on the right-hand pane. Click OK. Excel Options Customize Ribbon pane with the Developer checkbox checked under Main Tabs Now, examine the tabs on the ribbon interface. You should have a tab labeled “Developer”. Click on this tab to access the Visual Basic window, as well as access all of the buttons and controls you may need. Excel ribbon with the Developer tab selected showing the Visual Basic and Insert buttons
Last modified on November 5, 2026